12 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2009 1:14 AM by Jacob Bugge

How to make vector shape

linkot Level 1

Image1.gif

No need to say I'm new to Illustrator ... I hope my request is very easy to explain 'how to' ...

I would like to duplicate the above and have it be a vector so it sizes smoothly and large.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks

• 1. Re: How to make vector shape
          [scott] Level 6

All you really need to draw are 3 equal paths.

curves.jpg

That's the basic premise. You'll need to play with it a bit to get the exact path shapes.

• 2. Re: How to make vector shape
            linkot Level 1

That is so incredible!  You wouldn't believe how I've been tryng to go about this.  Thank you so much!

How can I learn the basics ... Illustrator 101.  I have an old Adobe Illusttator 9.0 Classroom in a Book ... I've graduated to CS4 but never conqurered the basics.

Thanks again ... much appreciated..

• 3. Re: How to make vector shape
              linkot Level 1

Is there a way to make it a vector shape ... once I have the curve it is solid.

Thanks again.

• 4. Re: How to make vector shape
                Wade_Zimmerman Level 6

linkot wrote:

Is there a way to make it a vector shape ... once I have the curve it is solid.

Thanks again.

It is vector but the envelop distort is exactly that it contains the original art it is really an appearance.

You have a few choices you can go to

Object>Envelop Distort>Edit Contents

Or

you can select the warped art and go to Object Expand now you will have six paths but if you do that then you should probably group them
                so you don't drive yourself crazy when you go to select and move the art.

The top is not expanded the bottom is expanded

Screen shot 2009-09-15 at 2.09.28 AM.png

1 person found this helpful
                • 5. Re: How to make vector shape
                  Jacob Bugge MVP & Adobe Community Professional

linkot,

And there are other ways.