11 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2009 8:26 PM by JETalmage

Gradient fills that radiate inward or outward

dbfletcher

I would like to be able to create a gradient fill between to paths that are create buy using the "offset path" command.  I want the fill to go either from the outside path toward the inside or vise versa.  Is this possible?  I am very very very very new to illustrator and i have been googling for hours but i dont think I know the correct terminology to search on.  I have attached a image using a circle that shows the effect i am after.  But I want to apply this to odd shaped paths.. but still have a smooth gradient from the outside path to the inside.

• 1. Re: Gradient fills that radiate inward or outward
          [scott] Level 6

For odd shaped objects the two options to use would be either a Blend or a Gradient Mesh.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Gradient fills that radiate inward or outward
            Jacob Bugge MVP & Adobe Community Professional

db,

I would like to be able to create a gradient fill between to paths that are create buy using the "offset path" command.

Actually, you are describing the first step in creating the blend for unstroked paths. Just select the two paths and:

2) Object>Blend Options, choose Align to Path, especially if you may rotate/whatever later, and choose Smooth Color or Specified Steps; with a suitable number, the latter will normally result in a smaller file, and it is needed if either or both objects has a gradient;

3)Object>Blend>Make.

• 3. Re: Gradient fills that radiate inward or outward
              dbfletcher Level 1

Thanks! That appears to be exactly what I was looking for.  I dont think I ever would have stumbled upon that myself.... "blend" never entered my brain for creating a gradient.  But like I said I am very new to illustrator.  Thanks for the nudge in the rigth direction!