4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2009 12:24 PM by jamedit

Client Preview in After Effects

jamedit

I'm running After Effects ver.8 (CS3) on a nearly new 2.93 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon Mac with 6GB RAM. I'm using an AJA ioHD for output to my broadcast monitors. I'm primarily a Final Cut Pro/Avid editor and am back on a rather large AE project after a few years hiatus other than doing minor animated type overlays and such for import back into my editing program.

The project is a little over 2 minutes and has dozens of layers - mostly type, photos and vector files. Very little footage-wise. My question is how to preview the entire 2 minute project at high quality for my clients who are behind me. Is there any way to just render it out in the timeline like you would in FCP or Avid and play it? I can preview sections of it or I can do the whole thing at half-res or skipping frames. I know that I can render out a movie to the finder and then import it back into FCP, but I would think that AE now has a way to render it and just hit "play" in the timeline.

Is there a way to do this? Or should I be getting more throughput with 6GB of RAM? Are my scratch disk settings maybe wrong?

Thanks in advance,

Eddie

• 1. Re: Client Preview in After Effects
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant