8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2009 11:49 AM by OnlyNK

How to make a 'Close' Button

OnlyNK

Hey,

How can I make al minimize, and close button?

I'm very new in the world of flash builder.

actually, I don't no anything about it...

Thanks!

OnlyNK

• 1. Re: How to make a 'Close' Button
          Truce

A 'Close' Button is just like any other button.

The actual logic of what the button does is added via FLEX/FLASH Builder with code.

So create your UP, OVER, DOWN, DISABLED artwork and group them.

Convert the group to button via the HUD "convert artwork to component"

And then toggle the artwork (on/off) to match each state via the layer panel

as you select the button state in the "Pages/States" panel.

Hope that helps and wasn't too terse.

Cheers,

-Truce

• 2. Re: How to make a 'Close' Button
            Peter Flynn (Adobe) Adobe Employee

Hi OnlyNK,

Normally, applications you create in Flash Catalyst will run in a web browser.  The browser window already provides minimize, maximize and close buttons.

If you want to create a floating panel within your app that has a collapse or close button, you can create a button from artwork as Truce described.  Then...

• For a collapse button:
              • Make the whole panel into a custom component
              • Create a "collapsed" state where most of the artwork is hidden and the border is resized smaller
              • Use the Interactions panel to have the button "Play Transition to State" to the collapsed state
              • To have a single button that toggles collapsed/uncollapsed, you can add two On Click interactions to the same button and change "When in any state" appropriately.
            • For a close button:
              • You can follow the above steps but create an "invisible" state instead of "collapsed".  Or...
              • Have your button Play Action Sequence instad of using states
              • Select the artwork for the panel