4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2008 1:12 AM by jonnyballe

access the application class methods

jonnyballe
      I am quite new to Flex and actionscript 3 and what I am trying to figure out is how to
      access public methods, getters and setters in the main Application.mxml file from an external class.
      In my test files below I know how to instanciate the Getter.as class and use the getters, methods and so on but what if I would like to do the opposite and access the actionscript methods, getters and setters in the Main.mxml from the Getter.as? How do I do this?

Thanks

Main.mxml--------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -----------------------------------------------------------
      <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
      <mx:Application xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" layout="absolute" creationComplete="creationCompleteHandler();">

<mx:Script>
      <![CDATA[
      import flash.display.Sprite;
      import Getter;

private var _baseName:String = "default basename";
      private var _Getter:Getter;

private function creationCompleteHandler():void
      {
      _Getter = new Getter();
      trace(_Getter.aVar);
      _Getter.aVar = "this is a new variable";
      trace(_Getter.aVar);
      }

//How do I access these from the Getter class------------------------------------
      public function tester():void{
      trace("tester");
      }

public function set baseName(n:String):void{
      _baseName = n;
      trace("Setting _currentSong to:" + _baseName);

}

public function get baseName():String{
      return _baseName;
      trace("Getting currentsong:" + _baseName);
      }
      ]]>
      </mx:Script>
      </mx:Application>
      end Main.mxml-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -----------------------------------------------------