11 Replies Latest reply on Sep 26, 2009 9:03 AM by timo888

Unicode/glyph/font advice needed for porting WinForms app to Macintosh using AIR

timo888

I've written an application in WinForms/.NET that I'd like to port to the Macintosh platform. I have never developed for the Mac but it seems as though AIR might be a good choice. I'm totally new to AIR. Some advice and info would be much appreciated!

Can an app be developed in AIR on a PC running Windows and then later be deployed transparently on a Macintosh? Or do I need to be developing on a Mac?

The app is a search interface for use against text-bases comprised of texts composed in ancient European languages. I pre-index the text-base and store it in SQLite as a fully-normalized (1NF) set of relations:  TITLES, WORDS, WORDOCCURRENCES.  So the app is really nothing more than a (query-only) database application with some specialized glyph-rendering requirements.

In the WinForms app, I used a custom third-party edit control with  extensive support for the RTF specification, in combination with some third-party fonts that contain the necessary glyphs for rendering the Unicode characters corresponding to RUNES and to some abbreviations found in medieval manuscripts. BTW, these special non-ASCII characters are represented in the database not as unicode codepoints but as entities that can be represented in standard ASCII (e.g. "þ"   ); when rendered to screen, the correct glyph has to be substituted when the Unicode codepoint for the entity supplied -- in this example the codepoint would be [U+00DE] and a thorn glyph  ( Þ) should be rendered.