14 Replies Latest reply on Sep 23, 2009 2:43 PM by A.T. Romano

PE7 crashes with 'effects' & 'transitions'??

CanonHG10

Hi All,

New user of PE7 and of this forum.

I installed PE7 this weekend and have been using it for about 5hrs in total. I'm a novice video editor and have chosen PE7 to get me started with editing my raw AVCHD files from my Canon HG10.

My problem is that in the 'Edit' tab, I cannot use either the 'effects' or 'transitions' or my computer crashes. By crashes, specifically I get the following message:

A white window appears in the center of the screen entitled "Microsoft Windows". The error message states "Adobe Premiere Elements.exe has stopped working. Windows is checking for a solution to the problem." And after 20 seconds of thinking the error message goes on to say "A problem casued the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.

All other aspects of PE7 work fine. I have imported over 50 raw AVCHD files, mucked about with them, split them, added music files, added titles etc and then rendered to my hard drive and also rendered and uploaded directly to Youtube. All of this works perfectly. Just not the 'effects' or 'transitions' which is very frustrating.

Regarding my computer/system:

Pentium i7 920 Quad Core

12 GB DD3 RAM 1600

Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 64 bit (the operating system is installed on a seperate solid state drive SSD).

The storage is 2 x 1.5TB Seagate 7200rpm HDD's

I made sure that both the operating system and Quicktime are both running the most up to date version with all updates.

I would appreciate any feedback/advice on my problem as I would love to be able to use the whole PE7 package.

many thanks for your assistance.

• 1. Re: PE7 crashes with 'effects' & 'transitions'??
          CanonHG10 Level 1

Hi again.

Just did some further reading and found a thread below with similar complaints/symptoms.