5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2009 9:30 AM by John Danek

Printing in the right colours?

apricotandpearjam

Hi.

I have an logo which is 2 shades of purple and a black outline.

I have had it printed a few times now with great disappointment. Sometimes the purples come out in a greyish faded purple red, other times quite pink.

What do i need to do in order to make sure the right purples are printed in every company?

Please bear in mind that im completely new to this. Im only designing as i can find or afford any decent designers.

Thanks, Benji

• 1. Re: Printing in the right colours?
          Jacob Bugge MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Benji,

First of all you should create the logo in a CMYK document. If you have RGB Document Color Mode it may change quite a lot when printed. Obviously, working in RGB Color Mode may give you false hopes of what is obtainable in normal CMYK printing.

You should also be aware of the issues that may arise because of lacking/different Edit>Color Settings.

And there may be differences depending on quality and kind of printers/printer drivers/printer driver settings. A PDF may show what you might expect, especially if you save as PDF and print from that.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Printing in the right colours?
            John Danek Level 4

You're only going to get consistency if you use spot colors.  In your case, it sounds like two purples and a Black, so 3 spot colors.  You could ask your local print shop if they can handle the file prep or if they know someone who can.  It will require a competent artist to create the gradients, however yours could be used as a template.

The risk to CMYK is there are too many variables and you are witnessing the results.  Like Jacob says, if you insist on keeping the document CMYK and printing with CMYK inks, you're vulnerable to color shifts.  CMYK is not impossible, but if you're looking for rock-solid consistency, then spot colors are the way to go.