9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2009 8:57 PM by John Hall

Academic/research articles regadring Flex and RIAs

dmall236

Hello all:

I am a student working to complete a degree in computer science.  As my senior research project I will be creating a RIA using Flex 3 to demonstrate how Flex and other RIA technologies help to create a better user expeience versus standard HTML/page based web applications.

My problem is that I am having a hard time finding any "research/academic" publications regarding RIAs and RIA technologies.  By saying "research/academic" this exludes blogs, how-to's, wiki's, etc (and my professor is very adimate about this).  Now, I found TONS of good and relevant journal/magazine/blog articles; however, none seem to qualify as "research/academic".

Can anyone point me in a direction as to where to look for these kinds of documents?  I tried searching my schools article databases and all articles dealing with this topic seem to be exeprts from magazines/journals.  I also tried searching adobe's site but found mostly how-to articles.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Academic/research articles regadring Flex and RIAs
          JeffryHouser Level 4

If blogs, how-to's, wikis, journals, and magazines don't count.  What is left? 

Instead of telling us what "research / academic" excludes, tell us what it includes.  What type of information are you looking for?

• 2. Re: Academic/research articles regadring Flex and RIAs
            dmall236 Level 1

One of my initial question to my professor was: "What exactly constitues an academic/research article".  The response I recieved was publications from "academic journals and conferences (with bibliographies), as opposed to trade journals/articles and trade shows" excluding blogs, wiki's, and how-to's.

Does this help?