6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 23, 2009 12:52 PM by Harry Wycoff

Basic question about Flex SDK:

Harry Wycoff

I'm a noob and also can't afford Flex Builder, so I downloaded Flex SDK.  I have the Java runtime, and set my JAVAHOME sys variable.  I ran the

C:\Program Files\FlexSDK\samples\explorer\build.bat

...and it ran for a couple of minutes (I presume successfully since I didn't see the word "error" appear anywhere in the command line window).

Now--I don't know if Component Explorer had been there before in the original download of Flex SDK (which all of which I copied into a directory I made called "C:\Program Files\FlexSDK\", but it's there now inside "C:\Program Files\FlexSDK\samples\explorer\" directory.  I don't know if my running batch.bat created this "Explorer.html" or not.  Does it?

My next question.  When I open that Explorer.html--as I've been instructed to do in order to view sample running Flex files--I see nothing but grey.

I don't know what to do, but this is compounded by the fact that I'm new to all of this--I don't know what to expect either.

Can anyone help point me in the right direction?  Thanks.

• 1. Re: Basic question about Flex SDK:
          RWinscot Level 1

Sounds to me like an IDE might help you... check out Flash Develop (http://www.flashdevelop.org). It's a free and has a solid community backing it.

Cheers,

Rick Winscot

• 2. Re: Basic question about Flex SDK:
            Harry Wycoff Level 1

Thanks for the link to the flashdevelop site.  I never new it existed.

First what I think I what I really need to do is be able to open an .mxml sample from off the street and be able to run it.  Currently I'm limited to viewing how third party .MXMLs run on the parties' own websites.  They supply me with the mxml source to compile and run on my own, but I don't know whether a runtime environment is available to me on my own system.