6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 24, 2009 11:04 AM by the_wine_snob

Split an AVI movie into several segments in PE 4

gasport

I am new to using PE and have an old version which I never used.   I have tried to do this with Roxio Creator 2009, Nero 9, and Studio 9 with no luck.

I captured a video from a Canon ZR 45.  I contains 2 actual sessions which I would like to make into 2 separate videos.   I can find no way to actually just split at the point I want and save the avi file into 2 separate files.   I also want to take one of the sessions and split it up into multiple sessions to load on facebook.   I have read some suggestions using PE 7, but I am not sure they work on PE 4 that I am using.

Here is basically what I want to do.

Split the origiona 12 GB avi capture file into 2 files.

Take the first session (23 minutes) and split that into smaller sessions (files) so I can do something different with each.

Any suggestions or recommendation for other software that can do this?

I do not want to get PE 8 unless I can get this to work...

• 1. Re: Split an AVI movie into several segments in PE 4
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Let's assume that you have done the Capture from your Canon and have the AVI's in both your Project Panel, and have placed those onto your Timeline. When you have edited out everything that you do not want, and have your Timeline exactly, as you wish, you need to Export/Share.

To do this segmentally, you need to use the WAB (Work Area Bar), placing it's In Point, where you wish your Exported movie to start, and its Out Point where you wish the movie to end. When you go to Export/Share, you will limit that Export to WAB only. Here's a look at the WAB:

WAB_Duration_01.jpg

For your multi-segment movie, you'll do the same, but the Duration of the WAB will just be smaller for each Export/Share.