7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 26, 2009 1:25 AM by try67

Opening External Programs

fictus

Is there a way to open an external program from adobe javascript? For example. I want to invoke my external program located in:

c:/Program Files/SignaXure/SignaXure.exe

How can I write a script so that when I press a button the program above opens (separetely and independently). I am not experienced with javascript but I know in visual basic I could use a Shell(ProgramPath) command to do the trick.

Thank you in advance...

• 1. Re: Opening External Programs
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Security restrictions in Acrobat don't allow this.

• 2. Re: Opening External Programs
            fictus Level 1

Thank you for your reply. It's amazing that Acrobat is so powerful but yet it's become so weak...

• 3. Re: Opening External Programs

Has it ever been able to do that? I doubt it.

• 4. Re: Opening External Programs
                fictus Level 1

I'm not really sure but I know that prior to Acrobat version 6 you were able to program buttons that could copy/cut/paste and a bunch of other sutff which is no longer present the latter versions. So maybe it was possible back then but I'm not sure.

• 5. Re: Opening External Programs

You're right that the security restrictions are much stricter. For some of

them I understand the reasoning behind it, for example I wouldn't want an

Acroabt script to be able to launch an application on my machine, but stuff

like preventing pasting is a bit silly.

• 6. Re: Opening External Programs
                    fictus Level 1