9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2010 9:37 PM by Carl Spackler

Building a simple checklist

Carl Spackler

I'm new to Flash CS3 and am working in action script 2.0  I've built a beautiful checklist that has a number of items on it.  When you click on an item, that item turns green, then a box drops down to the next item on the checklist.  Using the AS 2.0 stop(); command, I've simply made two frames of each checklist item (one in white font and the other in green font).  Each time you click an item, I've used the behavior "gotoframe and stop" to make the movie play and stop on the last frame.

Here's my problem.  When you get to the end of the checklist, I would like the clicking of the last item to activate the next checklist (which I haven't built yet).  I can't figure out how to do this!  What is the best method to handle this problem?  I've tried a new layer, but when I start the swf, all the layers are visible.  I've tried scenes, but that doesn't work either.  Is it possible to build the next checklist as a separate swf, then call that external swf up when you click the last item on the checklist?  I can't seem to get this last and crucial step to work.

Thanks much.

Carl

• 1. Re: Building a simple checklist
          Lon Winters Level 4

Is this all being done on the main timeline?  If so, you could just continue the same thing you've been doing,  Create new layers for the new checklist, and put the new list on the next frame that you will be going to.  Then place a blank keyframe (F7) after the last active frame(s) that contain the first list.  So on that frame checklist 1 ends and the new one begins.

• 2. Re: Building a simple checklist
            Carl Spackler Level 1

Yes...there is only one timeline so far, because I've only got the one checklist built so far.  I think I understand what you are recommending, so I'm off to give this a try.  The problem is that I'm so darned new at Flash there's just so much I don't know.

Carl