14 Replies Latest reply on Sep 29, 2009 9:51 AM by kglad

Action Script Buttons Heirarchy Help

onlinegenie

This is my first post and im hoping someone out there will be able to help I am a developer in JS and ASP but never learnt actionscript and am completely stuck.

Basically I am using the sliding code from a tutorial i found online, what i want to do is have buttons inside the Content 1, content 2 etc which are basically the pages which are then put into a holder then added to the main scene called CONTENT.SWF, I also have an index.swf which uses a swf loader to bring the CONTENT.swf in, confused yet i am......

The buttons work if i add them to the main scene in Content.swf but not in each of the content1, content2 etc. So i am sure its to do with hierarchy of buttons layers going down or something.

var currentPosition:Number = contentHold.content1._x;

var startFlag:Boolean = false;

menuSlide = function (input:MovieClip) {

if (startFlag == false) {

startFlag = true;

var finalDestination:Number = input._x;

var distanceMoved:Number = 0;

var distanceToMove:Number = Math.abs(finalDestination-currentPosition);

var finalSpeed:Number = .3;

var currentSpeed:Number = 0;

var dir:Number = 1;

if (currentPosition<=finalDestination) {

dir = -1;

} else if (currentPosition>finalDestination) {

dir = 1;

}

this.onEnterFrame = function() {

currentSpeed = Math.round((distanceToMove-distanceMoved+1)*finalSpeed);

distanceMoved += currentSpeed;

contentHold._x += dir*currentSpeed;

if (Math.abs(distanceMoved-distanceToMove)<=1) {

contentHold._x = maskMovie._x-currentPosition+dir*distanceToMove;

currentPosition = input._x;

startFlag = false;

delete this.onEnterFrame;

}

};

}

};

nav.b1.onRelease = function() {

menuSlide(contentHold.content1);

};

nav.b2.onRelease = function() {

menuSlide(contentHold.content2);

};

nav.b3.onRelease = function() {

menuSlide(contentHold.content3);

};

nav.b4.onRelease = function() {

menuSlide(contentHold.content4);

};