3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 29, 2009 11:05 AM by ParedesPhotography

RAW file colours looking incorrect

ParedesPhotography

Hi guys,

Sorry if this question has been asked or if this is a foolish one but I cant find any answers around and I'm getting really frustrated. Basically, I've been using Bridge for only a few months but have rated and sorted photos through it for the last few projects I've worked on. Recently I logged in to carry on working on some photos and noticed that the photos looked very different to what I remember them looking like. I opened them in Photoshop (using Camera RAW) and they still look odd. They look very light and over exposed and I cant work out why.

I've 'Reset Preferences' and 'Purged the entire thumbnail cache' in Bridge using the Reset Settings option and also purged the cache once in Bridge but neither of these things have helped. I noticed that if I generate a quick thumbnail instead of a high quality one in bridge, it looks as it should in the thumbnail but still doesnt look right in the preview window.

I've put this question in this forum as I think this is to do with the way RAW files are being ready by both Adobe Bridge and Photoshop as it looks the same in both.

Could someone please help me out as I've lost confidence in the changes I am making to photos at the mo until I understand this sudden change of colour? I'm sure it's not my monitor as I use SpyderPro calibration and the fact that my other JPEG photos still look normal but would prefer to know the reason for this before I commit more time to photo editing.

Thanks

• 1. Re: RAW file colours looking incorrect
          ssprengel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Sounds like something is wrong with your color settings or something is wrong with your ACR settings.

What do the photos look like if you set your monitor profile (using Control Panel / Display / Color Management or Control Panel / Color) to sRGB instead of whatever Spyder is determining?