8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2009 1:16 PM by the_wine_snob

Why does MOV imported to PE7 lose quality?

rproulxmtl Level 1

I'm new to PE7 and have already had (stumbling along) success playing with files from a 'Flip UltraHD', a 'Kodak Zi8' and a 'Canon G10'. So far all's well.

One think that I'm having an issue with is placing a Canon G10's MOV file in PE7. When viewed in QuickTime the MOV video image is very sharp. But as soon as I bring it into PE7 its quality visibly drops.

I've searched this forum a bit and found reference to an MPEG Streamclip video converter that apparently solved one user's issues with fuzzy videos. But I'm wondering why a video simply imported into PE7 would lose any quality?

I'm pretty familiar with digital image editing software and know that simply opening an image does not affect its quality.. only saving it in a lossy format would do that. But the high quality AVI file I made from the MOV original looks fuzzy.

Does Premiere Pro offer features that PE7 lacks which would avoid this fuzziness?

Russell

• 1. Re: Why does MOV imported to PE7 lose quality?
          Pure2 Level 1

I believe that PE7 only shows a rough representation of your video in the monitor window to maintain performance. This may improve if you render the video by pressing the enter key. It should not effect the final output quality. I have the Canon G10 but dont use it for my video.

• 2. Re: Why does MOV imported to PE7 lose quality?
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Video from non-traditional sources, like pocket "webbie" (Flip) camcorders and still cameras needs a special procedure before you use it in Premiere Elements, per the FAQs to the right of this forum.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/415317?tstart=0

• 3. Re: Why does MOV imported to PE7 lose quality?
              rproulxmtl Level 1

Thanks Steve. I'll try out the converters and see what difference they make.