17 Replies Latest reply on Oct 10, 2009 8:36 AM by Steve Grisetti

Premiere Elements 8.0 Crashing When it Loads?

Dyer1021

Hello - I'm completely new to video editing, so it's very possible I'm just doing something wrong, but hoping for some help.  I downloaded the trial version of Premiere Elements 8.0 today on two separate computers and I'm encountering the same problem with both.  I can only seem to open the Organizer, but can't access Premiere Elements from either the "New Project" button on the home screen or through "Edit with Premiere Elements" command under the edit dropdown in organizer.  I first loaded it on my wife's laptop which is a bit underpowered (Pentium 2 2.4GHz or something, 2 MB RAM) and then tried it on mine (Dual Core 2 Duo, 2.6GHz, 4 MB RAM) with the exact same issue.  Does it sound like a problem with the trial version, a resource issue, or just something I'm doing wrong?  I'm happy provide more info, but I don't know enough to know what else would be relevant to add.  Any help would be appreciated!

• 1. Re: Premiere Elements 8.0 Crashing When it Loads?
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Make sure that you have the latest updates, including the optional ones, from Windows Update (go there manually and check) and the latest version of Quicktime.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/416585?tstart=0

Then uninstall and reinstall the software.

If it still doesn't work, I urge you to contact Adobe Tech Support. They should be aware of your problems.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/414984?tstart=0

• 2. Re: Premiere Elements 8.0 Crashing When it Loads?
            the_wine_snob Level 9

After you have followed Steve's tips on updating everything, if you still have no success, you might want to see this ARTICLE on getting a computer ready for an NLE session. The tips in that article usually address the "Running Low on System Resources," and the "Out of Memory" errors, once you are editing. These usually do not crop up at launch.