22 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2008 6:05 AM by Karl_Sigiscar_1971

Flex/MVC newbie... not sure about coding practice

fragerdaz
      Here's the idea behind the application:
      There's a database accessed by PHP (with AMFPHP) and the Flex application (using MVC pattern) displaying data from the database.

I am fairly new to programming, so...
      What I need to know is if my code is truly designed as MVC and if I follow best practice in general.

All comments and suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!

• 1. Flex/MVC newbie... not sure about coding practice
          VarioPegged Level 2
          There are a few variations that you can go with here, but for me the most important thing in using a MVC pattern is to have loose coupling between the different elements. No offense, but I cringe when I see Application.application.someMethod() used in components (or anywhere else for that matter) where the whole idea of such a component is perhaps reusability.

I also believe that the model is closely associated with the service, so it makes most sense for me to have it coupled together, perhaps even in the same class depending on complexity and such. You could of course have a separate service class that'll work hand in hand with the model. Here I just added it within the model itself, not the controller.

Notice how the view is self-contained. It simply dispatches an event when the button is clicked. Nothing more. Then the view's dataProvider will be updated automatically when the service returns.

Although the controller can have heaps of logic in it, it doesn't have to. I basically changed it to simply redirect, but you could choose to have it handle more of the logic. By implementing an interface, like IController, you could swap controllers and functionality at will.

TS
          • 2. Flex/MVC newbie... not sure about coding practice
            fragerdaz Level 1
            Thanks for the reply.