5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2009 10:19 PM by Mylenium

Cropping images/video in AE CS3?

impactvideo

Strange question indeed here for the group.    

How do you crop images or video clips in AE.  There seems to be no Crop effect or utility as in Premiere Pro.  I am a bit new to AE but it seems this should be obvious, still I can not figure out and there was nothing in the help files.

Thanks for the help.

Jeff in Palmetto, FL

• 1. Re: Cropping images/video in AE CS3?
          TimeRemapper Level 4

It's all about terminology. Masking is word of the day!

• 2. Re: Cropping images/video in AE CS3?
            impactvideo Level 1

Thanks for the reply and the link.  However, using masks to adjust 3 edges of a square photo is a biut time consuming and messy in my opinion.  I am quite comfortable with using masks and use them frequently.  Using masks will work for my purpose, but using a crop tool like the one in Premiere Pro would be much easier.  I am really surprised that AE does not offer a crop tool.

My request for future functionality would be to include a Crop effect or tool as well as the inclusion of extrusion and other 3D tools for true 3D functionality.

Regards.

Jeff

• 3. Re: Cropping images/video in AE CS3?
              Mylenium Most Valuable Participant
              I am really surprised that AE does not offer a crop tool.

Well, it has! Use the limited region in your comp viewer. Once established, a simple Composition --> Crop to Limited Region will give what you need. If you work with fixed sizes on masses of photos, a script may be necessary, but off hand I'm not awrae of any prefab ones that mimic that functionality.

Mylenium

• 4. Re: Cropping images/video in AE CS3?
                impactvideo Level 1

Thanks.  That did indeed work!.