2 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2009 4:37 PM by bullwrinkle

Flex 4: what is <application> namespace?

bullwrinkle

I'm studying the sample code from Deepa Subramaniam's talk on "Creating new components in Flex 3 and 4" and the main.mxml looks like this:

<Application xmlns="http://ns.adobe.com/mxml/2009" backgroundColor="0xFFFFFF"
                       width="800" height="700" xmlns:comps="comps.*" layout="vertical">
           <Style>
               <!-- We use CSS to associate the skin with the component. Here the skin living in skins/FxVideoWidgetSkin.as is the basic
                    skin for the FxVideoWidget component -->

FxVideoWidget
               {
                   skinClass: ClassReference("skins.FxVideoWidgetSkin");
               }
           </Style>

<Declarations>
               <ShaderFilter byteCode="@Embed(source='CRT.pbj', mimeType='application/octet-stream')"  id="hydraFilter"/>   
           </Declarations>

</Application>

This generates the compile time error: "Could not resolve <Application> to a component implementation" using a recent Flex 4 SDK. I have also seen several other applications that reference an Application without a namespace specifier, such as <mx:Application> or <s:Application> for the Halo and Spark component libraries. So what are they doing? What libraries do I need to add to my build path?

• 1. Re: Flex 4: what is <application> namespace?
          deepa subramaniam (adobe) Level 2

Howdy!