2 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2009 11:34 PM by peterOxley

Preloader does not work as it should in full site

Firstly I am working with Flash MX Professional 2004 on a mac running Tiger. I am near to finishing a fully flash based website.

I am fairly new to Flash so experiencing a wee problem with my Preloader. The preloader is an animation in a movieclip that I have placed at the start of each scene that contains only one of my portfolio photos which once downloaded fades in and fades out. The Preloader tested in an isolated test scene on its own works fine, it is placed in frame 1 with the following actionscript 2 and a stop action placed in an actions layer. The downloading photo fade in starts in frame 2. When the user closes the photo it unloads it from the level it is in ready for the user to choose another photo which will go in to the same level.

Yet when the same scene is played back on its own level within the main website FLA it does work as an animation. Rather it stalls, blank to start with then at 50% download it goes straight to the 100% loaded part of the Preloader animation and stays like that until the photo has fully downloaded. It does this at all bandwidth tests and also does this when tested live once uploaded to server. It should animate smoothly up until the photo downloads. Very frustrating problem. I notice that the first frame of the scene has an unusually large size for some reason as the preloader is only 10kb in reality yet shows as 60kb, may be there is something going on here or perhaps it just needs the script changing slightly?

Perhaps this is a common problem?

Perhaps the script is wrong in some way?

The test site is at:

The preloader is only applied at the moment to photo menus in the recent and archive sections.

Anyway the script placed on the preloader animation movieclip is:

onClipEvent(load) {
      var myTotal = _root.getBytesTotal();
      onClipEvent (enterFrame) {
      if (myTotal > 0) {