8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 2, 2009 5:22 AM by vesko_m

PRE7: Aspect Ratio problem even before opening source media file

vesko_m

Hi,

I am a newbie in Premiere Elements. Read a lot of threads with aspect ratio problems, but didn't find similar problem to mine, so decided to open a new discussion.

I am shooting video with Samsung HMX-H105 SSD camcorder, in 16:9 widescreen HD video.

When I try to make DVD from the MP4 file from the camcorder, it gets skewed even before opening it, when it is seen in the right hand pane with the Media file previews. I am not sure if somebody can understand what I am trying to tell so I have a screenshot of a video that I shot with my camcorder and a video that I have downloaded, shot by someone else with Samsung HMX-H20 in 16:9 HD as well.

So even when I start a new project in 4:3 and not 16:9 my videos always get stretched. This is why I think that maybe Premiere Elements doesn't understand the aspect ratio of my MP4 video files - it can be seen in the left hand side pane, where I have circled (with white elipse) the black stripes above and below the video.

Hope that somebody can help with my problem.

• 1. Re: PRE7: Aspect Ratio problem even before opening source media file
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

I could find no specs on the Samsung site to indicate that this is a true AVCHD camcorder (although it's video uses a form of the H.264 codec).

If it is not an AVCHD camcorder, you will likely not be able to edit the video natively in Premiere Elements. Or, if you can, you'll need to re-interpret the footage to widescreen.

First ensure that your project is using the AVCHD project setting. Then, if your video is looking "stretched" right-click on the clips and select the option to Interpret Footage and select a setting that gives you a proper display.