10 Replies Latest reply on Oct 8, 2009 3:00 AM by Jacob Bugge

combining two shapes

chubbyp

hi there.  I'm creating an svg drawing using illustrator cs4.  within my drawing / graphic, i have a rectangle that has a label on it.  my user is requesting that when they click on the rectangle, they would like to see the rectangle grow / zoom so they can read the label clearly.

i found some sample SVG animations that use the <animate width...> tag which i can use to make the shape "grow".  the only problem is that the text on the rectangle doesn't grow withit.  is there any way to combine the rectangle & text so that it's just one shape instead of two?  (ideally, it'll remain a rectangle).

I tried grouping them and adding the animation on the group but that didn't work for me.  I also tried adding the animation on both the text and the rectangle but that didn't work either.  i'm just a newbie but my guess is that you can only do this on shapes that natively have a width property.  i guess text doesn't.  Can you tell me if thereis a way to combine these shapes and still be able to treat it as a rectangle?  is this the best approach to use?  the drawing will have a lot of shapes on it and the user wants to be able to either hover over a sape or click it to have it zoom in .

thanks.

• 1. Re: combining two shapes
          Jacob Bugge MVP & Adobe Community Professional

chubbyp,

You may try this:

0) If the rectangle has a stroke, copy it to the front (Ctrl/Cmd+C+F), remove the fill from the copy and the stroke from the original;

1) Copy the rectangle to the back (Ctrl/Cmd+C+B);

2) Change the colour of the copy to that of the type;

3) Select the type and the original rectangle and Pathfinder>Minus Front (Subtract from Shape Area in older versions).

This will give you two (or three) rectangular shapes, the one in front being a compound path. If the rectangle has and keeps a stroke, you will regret it when you see 3).

• 2. Re: combining two shapes