3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 2, 2009 1:56 PM by Ned Murphy

How to drag and drop another swf or fla into a template?

DavidDoherty

I am building a flash website for a friend. We are using templates he purchased at flashden.net.

I normally use wordpress, joomla and other such systems and am familiar with html, php, cgi and such.

This is my first time dealing with a flash template.

I have downloaded the trial version of the software and he wants to purchase adobe flash professional for me

So that we can edit the template and add features he wants in the future.

The website that sells the templates says you can easily drag and drop addons to templates in flash

but I am not finding it so easy. Is there somewhere online where I can find a tutuorial on how to step by step

drag and drop flash files into another template etc.?

Also, where can I find good tutorials in general? I have downloaded adobe flash for dummies it is not as indepth as I need

to get a handle on this software.

Thank you to anyone that offers me any advice,

David Doherty

• 1. Re: How to drag and drop another swf or fla into a template?
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Your best bet for getting clarification regarding the drag and drop is to contact the sellers that make the claim about the ease of it.  They may have special types of add-ons in mind that may not be what you expected.  In general, you cannot just drag and drop Flash files into other Flash files, and depending on you do add them together you can lose functionality.

As far as good tutorials in general go, you might try lynda.com.  It is a fee-based tutorial site that quite a few folks have praised, though I have never used it myself.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How to drag and drop another swf or fla into a template?
            DavidDoherty Level 1

Ned,

Thank you for responding.