4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 7, 2009 10:21 PM by DraconianDevil

Problem in Controlling sounds induvidually through AS2

DraconianDevil

Hi There, I am a newbie who is trying to learn Flash by myself. I am pretty good with the stuff, I have recently started learning loading sounds with Action Scripts..

Recently, I saw a flash file where there are four horses, and you click on each horse to make them sing. you click on them again to make them stop. this way, you can mix the sounds to get different outputs each time. here is the link to the file: Horses.swf

I tried to make my own version of the horses.. So I started to learn all the action scripts required (that I could find!) and started making the flash animation.

With much difficulty, I figured out how to toggle the sounds on and off with a single buttons, and to play different songs for different buttons. But now, I am stuck with this bit. Here is my problem:

I can click on any button to play one sound, while the sound is playing, I can click on other button, and the different sound plays just like it should. However, when I click on any button to stop that particular sound, ALL Sounds stops immediately. Here is the link to the file that I programmed:myOwnHorses.swf

I have even attached the source file that I am working on.. Please let me know What I am doing incorrectly!

Thank you very much!

** Additional Info **

I have declared the sound variables in the first frame of _root

the code in the root layer is:

//1
      var boy1 = 1;
      mySound1 = new Sound(this);
      mySound1.attachSound("b1");

//2
      var boy2 = 1;
      mySound2 = new Sound(this);
      mySound2.attachSound("b2");

//3
      var girl1 = 1;
      mySound3 = new Sound(this);
      mySound3.attachSound("g1");

And, There are three buttons (as you can see in the link above - My own horses . swf ) and with the click of each button, I am checking to see if the sound is already playing, and if it is playing, I am stopping the sound.