5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 8, 2009 10:27 AM by Todd_Kopriva

Weather Forecast Creation [Plz HELP!]

Chazfest

Hi,

I'm fairly new to After Effects and am looking desperately for help on what would be my first project.

I want to create a mock, tongue in cheek weather forecast, with a map with animated clouds/suns etc, and chroma key a presenter in front of it.

(It's for a music video for a song about the weather)

weather.jpg

I'm already quite competent in Photoshop, Illustrator and the Final Cut Studio, so I'm hoping many skills will be transferable.

Is After Effects the right place for me to build a project like this? I was considering doing it within the Final Cut Studio using Motion 4, but from what I've heard of AE, it seems this might be more suited.

It'd be fantastic to see a video tutorial, but any tips, tricks and advice would also be greatly appreciated. Right now I feel like I'm learning to swim in a pretty deep and dark cove.

Thanks in advance for any help...

• 1. Re: Weather Forecast Creation [Plz HELP!]
          bogiesan-gyyClL Level 3

I do not believe it is wise to attempt a real world job as your first project in After Effects. Whatever your production schedule is, double it.

AE is where you will do the animation of the weather map and the numerous graphical elements you create in your other applications.

You will then use AE to composite the chromakey.

AE will not do this for you. AE will not do anything automatically. AE is remarkably deep and rich and, depending on your proclivity for such things, supremely difficult to master and finesse.

You can perform most of the same tasks in Motion and you might find Apple's paradigm easier to grasp. I do not. I have been using AE since CoSA and Motion since v01. I despise Motion with a deep and totally unreasonable passion.