8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2011 12:38 PM by gspirido

How do you Capture Mouse?

jsoldi

I'm new at Flex and trying to make a graphics editor for which I need the user to be able to resize the graphs the same way most graphics editors do - with a resize box. So what I'm making now is a class (that extends UIComponent) that have 4 little squares (that extend UIComponent too) at the corners that the user should use as handles to resize something. So I all need to do right now is to make them react properly to mouse inputs: the one at the top right should have the same "x" position as the one at the bottom right if the user is moving the bottom right one and so on. What I do is call startDrag in the MOUSE_DOWN event for each square and then in the MOUSE_MOVE event I move the others squares accordingly. The problem is that the square being dragged moves faster than all the others. If I could just capture mouse and then do all the dragging stuff myself that would make it a lot easier. But it seems that they didn't implement that function so, does anyone know any other possible way to do what I'm trying to do?

• 1. Re: How do you Capture Mouse?
          paul.williams Level 4

Why don't you just update all the positions on the Mouse Move event?

• 2. Re: How do you Capture Mouse?
            jsoldi Level 1

That's what I do (except for the one I'm dragging) but as I said the one I'm dragging moves faster then the other ones I guess the program draws that one before calling the MOUSE_MOVE event.

• 3. Re: How do you Capture Mouse?
              paul.williams Level 4

Your post suggests you are unsure how to capture the mouse, but since you are successfully capturing mouse down and mouse move events it is not clear what you mean.

• 4. Re: How do you Capture Mouse?
                jsoldi Level 1