4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2014 5:27 AM by BigJohnD

PM4 files - need to view - help!

Patriot4Ever

Newbie here, I have numerous PM4 files which I need to be able to view and/or export to a viewable format and be able to save them. No longer have PM4 software. I know someone out there has the answer to this problem.  I was really glad to find this forum, thank you.

• 1. Re: PM4 files - need to view - help!
          BigJohnD Level 3

Download the PM7 trial, that should open the PM4 files.

http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/index.cfm?product=pagemaker&loc=en_us

Be aware that you will need the orignal images and fonts for a faithful reproduction.

From there you can create PDFs, export the text or open them with InDesign.

Iechyd da! John
          19:09 10/10/2009 BST

• 2. Re: PM4 files - need to view - help!
            Patriot4Ever Level 1

Thank you for the help. I will try your solution and appreciate your response

• 3. Re: PM4 files - need to view - help!
              dboydnl@hotmail.com

I have several old pm5 files, used them in PM5 last about 5 years ago (edited and printed). They are set up as 28 page A5 booklets.

They converted fine, I still had all the images and fonts.

I went to print it on a Brother HL4050 CDN in automatic Duplex and got 1 blank doublesided page and one double sided page blank and only page 1 on the other side (printed as an A5 in the middle of a portrait A4). In other words: no booklet. I asked for 1 copy, it printed the above 3 times (always page 1). I halted the printing.

Printed it to my PDF printer (PDF995). It created a one A4 page blank document.

I turned off Automatic Duplex. It printed 3 blank pages and then page 1, 3 more blank pages and then page 2. I halted the printing.

I have looked everywhere I can think of to find settings for making a folded booklet (or as it was called in PM5: a stapled booklet). Nothing.