13 Replies Latest reply on Jul 16, 2008 2:01 PM by 4tonmantis

Need Help!  Using Keyboard to Control MovieClip

4tonmantis

okay... I'm about knee deep in this project and I have come to a total stop. The title explains what I am attempting. I have run traces in just about every part of the code and it would appear that the input from the keyboard is simply not being read.

There may be other problems with the code (I'm mostly self-taught) and I welcome ALL help... but the biggest worry is using the V key to turn the menu on and off... (I don't care if it's _alpha or visibilty... just as long as it's working). My current attempt is attached [note I didn't clean it from my last attempt so both of my attempts could be seen]:

• 1. Re: Need Help!  Using Keyboard to Toggle Visibility
          4tonmantis Level 1
          Okay, I realized that this code needed to go into the instance of the movieclip with the interactivity. I don't care for that but at least I get feedback from my traces now.

I have a new problem... the v key is being read constantly rather than as a single press. I understand why this is, but how do I get around this? I need it to be push V turn it on, push V turn it off... not hold down V to watch it blink and have an epileptic seizure...
          • 2. Re: Need Help!  Using Keyboard to Toggle Visibility
            Rothrock Level 5
            Do you need to listen for other keys while the v key is held down? I haven't done this before myself, so I'm only guessing here.

But you could remove the listener on the key down and wait until there is a key up to restart the listener.

Also I'm not sure what you mean by, "Okay, I realized that this code needed to go into the instance of the movieclip with the interactivity."

Also I'm not sure how this is all supposed to be working. I don't see where hideShowMenu is being called. And I'm not sure in your onKeyDown event handler why you have just a "showMenu" there?