6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 17, 2009 11:54 AM by the_wine_snob

How do I delete a project ?

Mellieha

I'm new to Premier Elements 4 and I just cannot find a way to delete a project when finished with.

Help please!!

• 1. Re: How do I delete a project ?
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

As we say in my books, the smartest way to delete a project is to create it first in an easily deletable way.

In other words, whenever you start a new project, open a new folder for it. That way, all of the project files, captured video, rendered files and scratch files will be in one place. Deleting the project is as simple as deleting the folder.

Otherwise, you can deleting the project file manually as well as any supporting video clips. You may also want to delete the Auto-Save, Preview, Encoded, Layout and Media Cache files for that project within each of their sub-folders -- though you can also leave them. They'll take up space, but they won't hurt anything.

• 2. Re: How do I delete a project ?
            Mellieha Level 1

Thanks Steve, I'll remember to use a folder in future, but how can I delete what I already have?

• 3. Re: How do I delete a project ?

As I said, you'll have to manually delete the projects .prel file as well as any video clips you've captured for the project. Then it's up to you how deep you want to go cleaning up scratch and render files.

You'll find a sub-folder of Adobe Premiere Elements Auto-save files that will be about 30 meg. Make sure you only delete the ones for this project!

You'll also find a sub-folder of Adobe Premiere Elements Preview files, one for Encoded Files and one for Media Cache files. Inside of each will be a sub-folder named after your project that you can delete.

See how much easier things would be if you'd have read my book first?

• 4. Re: How do I delete a project ?
                Mellieha Level 1

What Book? Tell me about it.

• 5. Re: How do I delete a project ?