2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 12, 2009 1:19 PM by SPGAnne

PHP MySQL Flex - why isn't a new get of database reflecting a recent change

SPGAnne Level 1

I am new to PHP and MySQL.  I have been taking courses about all this on Lynda.com.  I have installed the WAMP test server on my system.

I used the "Create Database From Application" wizard in Flex Buolder 3 to get me started.  This successfully generated the .php code for the CRUD access to my database.  When I try to run the .mxml application generated by the wizard it doesn't work( I get an error 1008 saying "The markup in the document following the root element must be well-formed").  I spent quite a bit of time trying to figure that out and gave up.  Then I tried just writing my own basic .mxml app to call the CRUD functions in the .php code (that had been generated by the wizard) by using the HTTPService and using the method .send(params).  This all works fine except for the following situation:

First I call the "FindAll" php method which gets all my database records and displays them in a DataGrid control just fine.  Then I do an "Update" on a record, which also works fine (i.e. I get a result event that comes back showing the updated item has the new values, AND when I use phpMyAdmin on my WAMP server to double check, I can see the record has been updated fine on the server.)  Then I try doing a FindAll again, and I see in the Flex debugger that the result event coming back does NOT have my record with the update in it.  If I quit the Flex app and then launch it again and do a FindAll, the record I had updated is now correct and updated.