3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 12, 2011 4:56 PM by Jay_Armstrong

How do i slow down single cell animation?

coletrainwvu10

I'm new to flash and I'm working on an animation project for my class.  I decided to do half of it as single cell animation and half of it using tweens and whatnot.  The parts that are single celled are moving WAY to fast and are throwing off the flow with my tweens.  It's a requirement of the project to have atleast 20 fps and I don't have enough time to dedicate to drawing tons of more cells.  For example, I have one animation made up of 40 frames and it needs to be stretched to about 100 frames. 
      I've tried copying all of the cells into a movie clip and attaching a stop(); method at the final frame in the movie clip, then importing that into my movie and stretching it to the length i need, but it just runs at the normal animation rate and then stops until the timeline gets to where it's time for the next event or scene to take place. 
      It sort of looks like i need to find a way to control the fps of my movie clip independently of the entire movie, but how would i go about that?

Does anyone have any other ideas of how i could go about extending this:confused:?

• 1. Re: How do i slow down single cell animation?
          coletrainwvu10 Level 1

Shortly after I posted this, I realized that I could just double the size of each frame and that would work well enough to slow everything down.

It still seems like there should be a more dynamic way to go about this though...

• 2. Re: How do i slow down single cell animation?
            Tetra1984