4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 17, 2009 5:09 PM by the_wine_snob

Prem El 7: Previewing individual video tracks

mikecatman88

Hi All,

I am new to Prem Elements 7 and have been spending a lot of time on my first project.

Some simple things are holding me up and I can't resolve with the Help centre.

I have 3 video tracks stacked in the timeline.

A key problem is how to select and preview in the monitor panel each video track.

As default, the monitor will only preview the top video track in the stack. So for me, it will preview track 3.

But I want to be able to switch between video tracks and view the content of each track in the preview monitor to help with editing decisions.

Can anyone help please?

Many thanks.

• 1. Re: Prem El 7: Previewing individual video tracks
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Well, your video tracks are like a stack, Mike. In your Monitor, you're only going to be able to see the track that's on top.

However, if you'd like to see each of the clips buried under it, you can watch them in the Clip Monitor. To open it, just double-click on a clip.

Meantime, if you're looking for help getting started with the program, http://Muvipix.com is a great source for tutorials and tips -- as well as being home to the friendliest, most helpful community forum you'll find anywhere.

I've also written books both on Premiere Elements 7 and on the Photoshop Elements, Premiere Elements 7 combo. They're available on Amazon.com and on the Muvipix.com products page.

• 2. Re: Prem El 7: Previewing individual video tracks
            mikecatman88 Level 1

That's great Steve.

Thanks so much. I'll also head over to muvipix.com to check out what's available.

Best wishes,

Mike

• 3. Re: Prem El 7: Previewing individual video tracks
              A.T. Romano Level 7

Mike

You can do as SG suggests in that you double click the video clip on Video Track 1, 2, or 3 to bring up its Preview Window.