3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2008 3:33 PM by Newsgroup_User

Custom MenuBar

YushengWang Level 1
      Hello:
      I am creating a custom menu bar with accelerator keys. I created two subclasses called MyAcceleratorMenuBar and MyMenuItemRenderer. MyAcceleratorMenuBar is a subclass of MenuBar and MyMenuItemRenderer is a subclass of MenuItemRenderer. For the first step, I did not add any logic to MyMenuItemRenderer just want to test if I can use
      a custom item renderer. But I found a very strange error when tired to run my code. I am new to flex and really don't know where the code is wrong. I appreciate any help.

Thanks
      Yusheng
        • 1. Re: Custom MenuBar
          RustyRathbone Level 1
          I have done that same thing and am having similar problems. I have my own MenuBar that does the same thing. When I comment out the line that sets the itemRenderer it all works fine. I have even tried setting the item renderer like this:

// default item renderer from Adobe
          menu.itemRenderer = new ClassFactory(MenuItemRenderer);

But that fails too. There is obviously something else needed in order to get this to work.

The error is a null reference error. You have to run it in debug mode to see it. If you do not you only see screwed up behavior in the menu. Here is the error I get:

TypeError: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference.
          at mx.controls.listClasses::ListBase/drawItem()[E:\dev\3.0.x\frameworks\projects\framework\s rc\mx\controls\listClasses\ListBase.as:4906]
          at mx.controls::Menu/drawItem()[E:\dev\3.0.x\frameworks\projects\framework\src\mx\controls\M enu.as:1202]
          at mx.controls::Menu/hide()[E:\dev\3.0.x\frameworks\projects\framework\src\mx\controls\Menu. as:1511]
          at mx.controls::Menu/ http://www.adobe.com/2006/flex/mx/internal::hideAllMenus()[E:\dev\3.0.x\frameworks\project s\framework\src\mx\controls\Menu.as:2178