11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2009 8:38 PM by .Aspect.

Video quality for iPhone application

.Aspect.

I'm pretty new to video editing, so forgive me if I sound completely stupid.

I'm needing to convert video from a Canon Vixia HV30 camcorder to mp4 format to be displayed on an iPhone application I am developing.  There are 32 videos total.  Each video ranges from 2-3 minutes in length.  I've managed to get the videos from the camcorder into Premier Elements 8 (trial version for now).  The files range from 500-900 MB's in size as an MPEG file format.

After mucking about, I've managed to edit the videos, adding in effects and such, fairly basic stuff so far.  I select the 'Share' button and select 'Movile Phones and Players' option.  If I use the Ipod and iPhone - High Quality preset, I get a really good looking video that's approximately 21-17 MB's in size.

That's lovely, but I really need to see if I can get the file size smaller, without losing a bunch of clarity.  The videos are filmed in HD, so I need them to display that quality.  I've changed to the Medium Quality preset, but it looks very pixilated and blurry on the edges of objects when they move.

In case you need to know, here's the preset video values for High Quality:

• TV Standard: NTSC
      • Frame Width: 640
      • Frame Height: 480
      • Frame Rate: 30
      • Pixel Aspect Ratio: Square Pixels
      • Profile: Baseline
      • Bitrate Encoding: VBR, 1 Pass
      • Target Bitrate [Mbps]: 1
      • Max Bitrate [Mbps]: 1.4

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Video quality for iPhone application
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Unfortunately, I think you've found the nature of the compromise. An MP4 video is already very highly compressed. It's about as small as it can be without compromising quality. About the only way to make it smaller is to compromise its quality somewhat.