7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2009 3:04 PM by Liz NZ

White screen flash on page load in Firefox

Liz NZ

Hi

I'm new to this - have just built a website in Dreamweaver CS4 which has a different Flash banner on each page with a fade in/out text.

My problem is that in Firefox the whole screen flashes white for a second when moving from page to page. It seems to work fine in IE.

It might be a really simple problem but I have googled and can't seem to find a fix. Can anybody help or offer suggestions.

The link is www.braveheart.org.nz

Thanks

liz

• 1. Re: White screen flash on page load in Firefox
          robdillon Most Valuable Participant

That white flash is the background for the Flash movie showing before the movie loads. This will happen in every browser if the Flash movies aren't already in the cache. Purge the cache in IE and you'll see the same thing.

• 2. Re: White screen flash on page load in Firefox
            Liz NZ Level 1

Hi Thanks for that. I had wondered whether it was related to the cache but had decided it couldnt be because it kept on occurring even when i was going back to each page repeatedly on a visit. But then again it seems to be working on Firefox today and only intermittently causes the white flash. I have had the client complaining that it is happening to her so I hoped it could be something that I could fix.

Liz

• 3. Re: White screen flash on page load in Firefox

You can't fix html but you might be able to make the transition less startling. You could redesign your Flash file so that you have a fade in of the content, or a progressive addition of the content: bring in some elements and then others over time. You want to try and make the new content show up in a more pleasing way.

• 4. Re: White screen flash on page load in Firefox
                Liz NZ Level 1

Thanks. It is a very simple banner - just an image in the background and