2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 16, 2009 12:11 PM by tunghoy

Clip Notes in CS4: questions about streaming

tunghoy Level 1

I've used Clip Notes before with small, embedded files, but this is my first time with a large video that I want to stream on a server. Maybe someone can answer a few questions:

1. Where do I name the movie file? The export dialog only has a place to name the PDF.
      2. How does the URL setting work? The documentation simply says "This is where your video file is located" but that puts the cart before the horse. How can I specify the name and location of a movie that hasn't been created yet and for which I have no control over the name? The FTP feature works great, but it's for upload only, not for naming.
      3. After exporting the movie and PDF, is there a way to re-generate the PDF w/o having to re-export the movie? I realized I wanted to make some changes to the PDF only (like instructions and URL), and exporting another movie will take time that isn't necessary.
      4. I learned here earlier that only the QuickTime option will provide player controls. But a big .mov requres a streaming server, which I don't have. The .wmv option has the opposite problem. Does anyone know of a workaround (or other method entirely) that will use Flash video? FLV or F4V will do progressive downloading with small file sizes for online viewing.
        • 1. Re: Clip Notes in CS4: questions about streaming
          Colin Brougham Level 6
          Where do I name the movie file? The export dialog only has a place to name the PDF.

The name you assign to the PDF is also assigned to the exported movie file, regardless of whether you use QT or WMV. So, if you set the name of the PDF in the Export Settings to "clipnotes.pdf", the video will be either "clipnotes.mov" or "clipnotes.wmv", depending on the format you've chosen.