8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2009 4:25 PM by the_wine_snob

How to save pieces of a video separately?

learnit10

I have a 12 minute video that I would like to split into smaller segments and save each segment as a separate video file.

I have cut the video into pieces using markers and "ins and outs" and have dragged those pieces to the timeline. I am stuck at this point, however. (I am new to Premiere). What can I do?

Thank you!

• 1. Re: How to save pieces of a video separately?
          Jim_Simon Level 8

This is very basic stuff that a proper education in video production and a thorough read through of Premiere's instructions will resolve.

• 2. Re: How to save pieces of a video separately?
            acmputr Level 1

Go to http://www.lynda.com  for $25 a month or $250 a year you can access traing videos that will answer you questions.  The traing is required to be effective.  If you just bought Premier it hould have come with a choice of freebees.  A one month subscription to Lynda.com was one of the options.

• 3. Re: How to save pieces of a video separately?
              learnit10 Level 1

Lynda.com is actually the place that I am learning and yes, it's very good. The Premiere tutorial is about 3 hours (as opposed to many that are 9); I am 2/3 through the tutorial, however, and it doesn't appear that the later topics will answer the question, but I guess I will just have to finish it out and see. If the answer is simple though, please post here.

• 4. Re: How to save pieces of a video separately?
                acmputr Level 1

Just because you use CS4 don't think the CS3 videos will be of no use to you.  You'll get it sorted out.

• 5. Re: How to save pieces of a video separately?
                  Powered by Design Level 4

You could create a new sequence and then drag the original clip inside that ( called nesting ) and edit that clip to whatever size you want.

Nesting works if you have a long video that you want a small clip from.