3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2009 8:40 AM by pixlor

Fireworks Workflow: Illustrator > Fireworks > Dreamweaver?

thomasbricker Level 1

Im new to Fireworks.

Used to use ImageReady, years ago.

Im just trying to get straight on what the workflow should be when you use Fireworks with the rest of the CS4 Suite.

Say if I start out with a layout in Illustrator.

Looks like you can open that Illustrator file into Fireworks (if it doesnt contain bitmaps)

Once you have set up the fireworks file the way you want it, is that file then opened into Dreamweaver and further configured for web usage?

Or does one have to export and then open the resultant html file in Dreamweaver and configure from there.

Or can you skip Dreamweaver entirely and build a site without DW. (doubt it)

Does Fireworks round trip with Dreamweaver?

Does Firework's coding for say a rolllover, carry over to DW? (I would imagine so)

Where do I find the best explanation of the preferred workflow method with all the CS4 apps to create website content?

• 1. Re: Fireworks Workflow: Illustrator > Fireworks > Dreamweaver?
          pixlor Level 4

Use each application for what it is best suited for.

Illustrator is great for drawing. Fireworks is great for Web layout and Web graphics production. Dreamweaver is great for HTML and CSS coding.

Fireworks can open Illustrator files...with come caveats. Personally, I only import Illustrator graphics into Fireworks if they are something more involved than Fireworks can do, for example, complex shapes or text with alternate glyphs in OpenType fonts.

If you just need a quick prototype, then Fireworks code is good enough. Fireworks is a Web graphics and prototyping application. It is not a WYSIWYG Web page layout program. If you are going to build code and you have Dreamweaver, you are better off building code in Dreamweaver, as Dreamweaver's code is more robust.