5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 12, 2009 3:08 AM by Sarthak Singhal

Saving jpg original after exporting in FWcs4 reduces the original in size

palurie

Oh horror!

Is this a bug or is it a "new feature"?

In CS3, I could always export from a JPG image within FW, and if prompted to save, if I saved the original JPG, it remained untouched, leaving the original and the exported versions.

In CS4 it seems that if I save the JPG after exporting, I am no longer prompted whether to save the file as a PNG, and the original JPG is then saved at the EXPORT size.

What happened to the "Save as PNG" prompt?

If CS4 would at least save the "original" (jpg) image at initial resolution as a PNG, then there would at least be something at full original resolution!

Help!

Thanks

• 1. Re: Saving jpg original after exporting in FWcs4 reduces the original in size
          pixlor Level 4

If the default actions for CS4 have changed from CS3, that hardly makes it bug. On the contrary, it may have been considered a bug that "saving" a .jpg wasn't equivalent to the export function and that this bug was fixed for CS4.

"Saving" an open .jpg is a bad idea: every time you open and re-save a .jpg you lose information. As the human designer, you need to operate the program, not depend on the program to do your thinking for you. If you want to open a .jpg and save it as a .png, then you should take those actions deliberately (File > Save As...).

• 2. Re: Saving jpg original after exporting in FWcs4 reduces the original in size
            palurie Level 1

Thanx Pixlor for your ideas. All very well not to to "depend on the program to do your thinking for you", but this is a significant change for a longtime user of Fireworks (from Macromedia days).

Has the default action for CS4 indeed changed from that of CS3?

Is there a way to reactivate the function that prompted to save the original JPG?