9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2009 8:44 PM by A.T. Romano

How to get HD footage

lcox400w Level 1

I just purchased a Canon Vixia HF200.  I have done some initial filming to test out making a quick movie.  I noticed that when I watch the footage on my HD TV (from the camera), it looks great.  But when I import it into Premiere Elements 8 and render it, the footage is not so good.  I am rather new to this so I have a few quesitons.

I assume since I filmed it in HD, in order to get that HD quality I have to burn it to a blue ray? (I dont have one) or can I get HD quality on a DVD in another fashion?  Do I need a special HD driver to burn HD footage?

I was reading the forums and saw that you can export the footage to various formats using presests.  But how do I determine what the footage was filmed in.  I check the property's of the clip I filmed and I dont see what it indicates the type of footage?

Anoter post I read talked about taking HD content and downgrading it to SD content but again it talks about various presets based on the type of footage I shot but I dont know how to determine that after the fact.

Any help would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: How to get HD footage
          A.T. Romano Level 7

llcox400w

Please check out my overview on the topic. Please see post #15 in the following recent thread here

http://forums.adobe.com/message/2304236#2304236

If any questions, please let me know.

ATR

• 2. Re: How to get HD footage
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

That camcorder, by the way, shoots in AVCHD video, so that is the project preset you should be using.

• 3. Re: How to get HD footage
              A.T. Romano Level 7

llcox400w

Did you ever say what version of Premiere Elements that you are using, version 7 or 8?

"HD footage" could imply HDV and AVCHD. As SG points out, your Canon Vixia HF200 is shooting AVCHD which is MPEG4-AVC/H.264. He said: