4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2009 7:29 AM by ScottBoring

Validation Results from ValidationGroup

ScottBoring

I am an architect for a very large flex project at the ActiveNetwork. I am considering using the ValidationGroup as part of our process for validation. I like the concept grouping validators including nested groups. I don't see how to get the validation results after validating the group though? I think this is an important feature that the standard validator class provides with validateAll() which returns the validation results. I'd like to see a similar feature on the ValidationGroup that validate all and returns the results which I can then display to the user.

Is there currently a way to do this with ValidationGroup? Can this be added if it is not there?

• 1. Re: Validation Results from ValidationGroup
          Alex Uhlmann Level 3

Hi Scott,

have you checked out the samples in the ValidationTest project? We currently don't propagate the ValidationResultEvent objects but we do store invalid Validator objects in the currently private invalid property. For what use case where you thinking about using the result objects?

Alex

• 2. Re: Validation Results from ValidationGroup
            ScottBoring Level 1

The use case is validating a form upon a user gesture.

For instance: Let's say we have a simple form that collects some basic user data. When the user clicks the submit button I want to validate all of the fields in the form and notify the user of any and all validation results. I want to display in a popup information like: "First name is required", "Last name is required", etc...

To do this I need the validation results from each validator.

• 3. Re: Validation Results from ValidationGroup
              Alex Uhlmann Level 3