0 Replies Latest reply on Oct 22, 2009 2:17 AM by dfghi

Bidirectional binding and passing data.

dfghi

I started learning Flex and I have couple of problem of which I can't see a clear solution.

Flex 4 has two way binding, but how can I use it with data type different from strings? I receive from a web service dates and numbers, let the user edit them and send them back to the web service. Flex 4 code generator created all the necessary objects, that contain numers and dates types. Presenting them to the user in text fields (or date fields) is easy, but I can't get such a simple way to send them back. When I try two way binding it gives compilation error because it think I'm trying to force a cast from String to Number or Date. If I understand correctly, the only way to get the data back to the web service is:

• Introduce validators for Numbers and Dates
      • For each of the form element, check if it is valid
      • If all of them are valid, convert them manually to the appropriate type
      • Populate back the original object with new values (and then send it to the web service)

Is there a smarter way to let the two way binding work the way is meant to be? Is there some way to set the converter to use when binding back from String to Number?

By the way, is there some simple way to ask a Form object that all the contained fields are valid?

The second problem regards passing data among different views: is there a standard way in Flex to "share" data between different mxml files? I have two scenarios: