5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2009 12:41 PM by the_wine_snob

Export Trouble In CS4 Premiere Pro

a2c7

Hello,

At work I use premiere pro cs4.  I'm still learning this software as I'm used to Final Cut Pro on a mac to edit with - I work on windows XP.  I'm working with footage from a Canon HG21, I don't believe it's filmed in HD but as this is a camera obviously intended for home or personal use I can never quite tell if the quality settings are HD or non HD.  I've tried importing my footage in DV and HDV.

When I export to a WMV or AVI in any setting my footage is showing up as a thin line in the middle of the player's screen.  (This is media player as my PC at work doesn't yet have quicktime on it)  This is obviously very frustrating as I'm working with limited memory (ram) and it takes a LONG time to export even the shortest clips.  I did render and export a clip, dropped onto the timeline unedited and it plays perfectly - yet as soon as I start putting in and out points or effects, cuts etc the video exports out as a thin line.  To note : the thin line 'plays' and there is perfect sound.

Can anyone help me?  I'm sure it's a setting I'm missing due to my lack of knowledge on Premiere Pro, but I've got tomorrow lunch time as a deadline.  (Not to mention the issues of crashing on such low ram)

Thanks

• 1. Re: Export Trouble In CS4 Premiere Pro
          the_wine_snob Level 9

OK, just to make sure I have things in order, you have Captured the footage from the Canon in PrPro CS4, where it plays and edits fine. It is ONLY when you export to .WMV, that this odd, thin line behavior happens. Is that correct?

What are specs. on your source files? G-Spot will tell you all about them, including whether they are SD, or HD - and it's freeware.

Second, what are your exact Export settings in AME? That will be very important.