9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2009 10:51 AM by Gustavo Del Vechio

Tracing Pictures

lsb4uebay Level 1

Hi,

I am brand new with Illustrator.  I have a handful of pictures in which I would like to import or past into Illustrator & quickly get the profile edges of them or be able to trace them, without having to trace every little detail.

I think I've seen this done in one of the demos, but I can't seem to find it.   Please provide assistance to have a newbie be able to get the profiles of these images. Also, I may want to keep the colors of them to if possible.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Tracing Pictures
          Gustavo Del Vechio Level 3

Could you attach image you´d like to trace? (sure, if isnot private)

What version of AI? Thanks

• 2. Re: Tracing Pictures
            Michael Riordan Adobe Community Professional

The feature you're looking for is "Live Trace" but  Gustavo is right to ask for more details on what you are trying to do because a lot of people get themselves an image with waaaay too much detail and far too many vector points by using this one without careful consideration. There are other sometimes better ways to grab a silhouette of an image so I'm sure the advice will get more detailed when we see what you're trying to accomplish.

Cheers

Michael

• 3. Re: Tracing Pictures
              PrepressPro1 Adobe Community Professional