3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2009 8:41 AM by gkaiseril

Preventing a calculation

mmcsweyn

Hello-

I'm very new to this so this will hopefully be an easy on for many of you.

I have set up a form in a PDF in Acrobat Pro 5.0 that calculates two other form fields (Product Weight and Tare Weight).  This is the script:

var p = this.getField("Product Weight");
      var t = this.getField("Tare Weight");
      event.value = p.value - t.value

My problem is that this will recalculate everytime the file is saved even if the values entered in the two fields were not changed. I have this integrated with another application that has an Audit Trail - whenever the PDF file is saved, the calculation fires the audit trail saying that the calculation field was changed from "0" to "<the new calculated value>" even though nothing was changed in the fields.

How could i set it up to ONLY calculate and recalculate if there are non-0 numbers entered in either of the two fields or if either of the numbers entered were changed?

Thanks for your help.

Matt

• 1. Re: Preventing a calculation
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

I don't think you tell Acrobat when to calculate the form fields. However, you can add a codition in your script that doesn't apply the new value if it's identical to the present value.

Maybe that will solve your problem.

• 2. Re: Preventing a calculation
            try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Actually, there might be another way. You can try setting the event.rc property to false. That should stop the event from committing.

• 3. Re: Preventing a calculation
              gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional