18 Replies Latest reply on Oct 27, 2009 6:44 AM by panfried

why illustrator for vectors?

spotted-dog

as a web designer i am ashamed to say that i never fire up illustrator whenever i need graphics.  i always use fireworks, whther it's for jpeg or gif files, for websites.

however, i have read recently that all logo work should be done in illustrator because vector files can scale without loss of detail.  precisely what i need!  because i've noticed that the jpeg or gif logos in fireworks do not scale without some fuzziness (of course i work with them as png files but then i export them).

my question is this:  if i do decide to go with illustrator for my logos, won't i have to convert them to either jpeg or gif anyway (sometimes png) before i upload to the server?  so if the final product is the same in fireworks and illustrator (jpeg, gif) why would i be advised to draw in illustrator?  is there something special about the illustrator native file format that preserves detail even after it's converted/exported to jpeg or gif?

confused?  someone please set me straight.

• 1. Re: why illustrator for vectors?
          Jacob Bugge MVP & Adobe Community Professional

spotted-dog,

Vector artwork is scaleable, which means that you may create raster images at any size (and keep it vactor for print at any size which may also be needed for logos).

Especially when you change the size of a PNG or GIF, it is difficult, unless you halve the size (or halve again) brcause you either get too large pixles or jagged edges. The size of vector artwork may be changed freely, and then saved as raster.

• 2. Re: why illustrator for vectors?
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant
            is there something special about the illustrator native file format that preserves detail even after it's converted/exported to jpeg or gif