16 Replies Latest reply on Nov 3, 2009 7:02 AM by csgaraglino

Video's are soft (blurry)

csgaraglino Level 1

First, I am new to Premiere Elements, but as a software engineer I pick up thing pretty fast.

I have a .avi file that I am using for a baseline that was captured from Camtaisa (but my issue exists no matter what file I use).

It is 648x480 - 632kbps - 10 frames/sec 18.2mb and can be viewed here:

http://www.ilgm.com/userfiles/file/baseline_video.avi

My issue is that if I open PRE, drop the video file on the timeline the preview is soft?

It actually looks like anti-alias is being applied?

I can live with that, but is I click share - it does not matter what export format I choose, it aslo saves soft?

I have been using AVS4YOU Video Editor ($30) for the last year, but it is very limites in features.

When I save in AVS4YOU I get a great clean crisp video form the same source.

I have tried saving in PRE using the exact same setting, but PRE still comes out soft (blurry).

I cannot for the life of me figure out what I am doing wrong!

Please help.

Chris Sgaraglino

ILGM, Inc.

• 1. Re: Video's are soft (blurry)
          A.T. Romano Level 7

I think the following got posted in someone else's thread by mistake. Sorry about that.

Issues with Camtasia Studio 6 video have been reported here and elsewhere for Premiere Pro as well as Premiere Elements. I am a Premiere Elements user and have not run into the issue if I render the Timeline in the Edit Mode to get the best possible preview. Burning of the rendered Timeline gives me good results. I have varied the codec of the Camtasia video used and have had the best results with .H264 with a .mov file extension.

Here are some background links on the Premiere Pro side of the fence:

http://forums.adobe.com/message/1902061#1902061

http://forums.adobe.com/message/2322954#2322954

ATR

• 2. Re: Video's are soft (blurry)
            the_wine_snob Level 9

I have a couple of thoughts: