22 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2009 2:48 PM by Harm Millaard

Premiere Pro on SSD or Hard drive ?

brouillon

Hi,

I im new to Premiere Pro CS4, and I wand to know what is the best option to install it on my computer.

My computer is like this :

Mother board : Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3
      Proc. : Intel Core i7 860
      Memory : 8Go : Crucial 2 X 4 Go (2 x Kit 2x 2 Go) DDR3-SDRAM PC10600 CL9
      Graphic  : ASUSTeK EAH4350 SILENT/DI/512MD2(LP) - 512 Mo DVI/HDMI - PCI Express (ATI Radeon HD 4350)

C: System drive :  Crucial M225 - SSD 64 Go 64 Mo 2.5" Serial ATA II
      F: application drive :  Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 3Gb/s - 1 To 7200 RPM 32 Mo Serial ATA II
      D: data drive : RAID0 with: 2 Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 3Gb/s - 1 To 7200 RPM 32 Mo Serial ATA II 

Systeme : Vista Intégrale SP1 64 bits

Cooling : Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
      Alim : Corsair VX450W - Alimentation 450W ATX 12V 2.2
      E: DVD : Samsung SH-S223L/BEBE LightScribe 
      IEEE : Contrôleur hôte Texas Instruments IEEE 1394 compatible OHCI (Open Host Controller Interface)

Should I install Premiere CS4 (and all the collection) on the SSD (system drive with 30Go free) ?

Or on the 1To drive.

I think I have to keep the RAID0 only for previews.

Should I change the system pagefile from C: (SSD) to F: (Single disk) ? or D: (RAID0)  ?

Thanks for reply,

• 1. Re: Premiere Pro on SSD or Hard drive ?
          Jim_Simon Level 8

Always install to the C: (System) drive.

• 2. Re: Premiere Pro on SSD or Hard drive ?
            Bill Gehrke Most Valuable Participant

I would install the CS4 suite on your applications drive.  I have not tried your configuration but if you look at my PPBM Benchmarks Results page you will see my (disappointing) results trying to speed up Premiere Pro with a SSD.  You can use the benchmark to try different configurations and see for yourself.

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Premiere Pro on SSD or Hard drive ?
              brouillon Level 1