4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 27, 2009 5:08 PM by tploud74

How does the ActionScript API, Eclipse IDE, Flex SDK, Cygwin & Flex Builder all communicate??

tploud74

Whats up Everyone! As you might've immediately recognized from the title of this thread I'm new to developing apps with Flex.....

If I've succesfully set up my development environment (Flex SDK, Eclipse IDE, JAVA SDK, Apache Ant, Flash Player, etc.....) & checked out the source code using Subversion, can I start developing my app using the ActionScript 3 API using Eclipse? & how do those different SDK's & programs communicate? How should they be setup?

• 1. Re: How does the ActionScript API, Eclipse IDE, Flex SDK, Cygwin & Flex Builder all communicate??
          paul.williams Level 4

I'm not sure I understand your issue. What source code have you checked out with subversion? Are you using FlexBuilder (standalone or plugin) or are you just using Eclipse? What do you want to use Cygwin for? How do you know your development environment is successfully setup if you haven't developed anything yet?

• 2. Re: How does the ActionScript API, Eclipse IDE, Flex SDK, Cygwin & Flex Builder all communicate??
            tploud74 Level 1

This will be my 1st attempt building any project with Flex. & yes you are right I havent successfully built anything yet. I work at an environmental engineering firm & was looking to develop an in-house app that could be used by upper-management & others who dont know how to use the tools in AutoCAD or ArcGIS to get quick info & generate data visaulizations based on our current dataset & databases.

So I'm still in the early development phases & just loaded Flex on my home computer & was wondering what an ideal IDE would look like to get started implementing this project......

• 3. Re: How does the ActionScript API, Eclipse IDE, Flex SDK, Cygwin & Flex Builder all communicate??
              paul.williams Level 4